Seventeen home builders and remodelers, home  builders' associations and other members of the home building industry were recognized for their commitment to strong safety programs Feb. 7 at the sixth annual SAFE awards dinner during  the National Association of Home Builders' (NAHB) International Builders' Show in Orlando, Fla.

The NAHB/Builders Mutual Insurance Company Safety Award For Excellence (SAFE) recognizes member companies, workers and other individuals for the excellent safety programs that make them leaders in the residential construction industry.

This year, the SAFE program honored the following individuals and companies that have worked to achieve exemplary safety and health programs in the residential construction industry.  

“These individuals and companies have excellent safety records because they have made a commitment to strong, sustainable educational programs on safe practices and they communicate the importance of these safety programs in no uncertain terms,” said NAHB chairman Bob Nielsen, a home builder and developer in Reno, Nev.

The programs honored this year include:
Single-Family Builders Safety Program of the Year:
Foursquare Builders LLC, Austin, Texas (Less than 10 homes built per year) Armstrong Builders LLC , Honolulu, Hawai'i (11-100 homes)
(tie) Wayne Homes, Uniontown, Ohio and Winchester Homes, Bethesda, Md.  (Greater than 100 but less than 500) The Mungo Companies, Irma, S.C. (More than 500 homes built per year)

Associate Member Safety Program of the Year:
South Carolina Home Builders Self Insurers Fund, Columbia, S.C.

NAHB Safety Professional of the Year:
Larry Freiert, Winchester Homes

Remodeling Company Safety Program of the Year:
Bettendorf Home Repair and Remodeling Inc., Bettendorf, Iowa

NAHB-Affiliated Association Safety Program of the Year:
Home Builders Association of Metro Denver Specialty Trade Contractor of the Year (tie):
Airtron, Inc. of Indianapolis and Comer Construction, Forrest Hills, Md.

Innovative Safety Program/Idea of the Year:
Ryland Homes - Indianapolis Division

Multifamily Safety Program of the Year:C.F. Evans Construction, Orangeburg, S.C.

Leadership In Construction Safety:
Jim Carr, University of Little Rock, Ark.

Also during the awards breakfast, attendees congratulated the Builders Mutual Insurance Company and NAHB Construction Safety & Health Committee Chair Dean Mons for the leadership, dedication, and generous support that made the Annual NAHB/Builders Mutual SAFE honors program a success for the sixth straight year.