The National Wood Flooring Association (NWFA) recognized Rick Holden, COO of Derr Flooring in Willow Grove, Pa., with its Industry Leadership Award during the Wood Flooring Expo in St. Louis.

The award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the wood flooring industry through service and leadership. Holden is a former NWFA chairman, and has served the association for most of its 30-year existence.
“Rick has given his time, expertise and guidance to NWFA and the wood flooring industry for more than 20 years—15 of which were on the board of directors,” said Jeff Fairbanks, NWFA's chairman and vice president of Palo Duro Hardwoods. “He has exhibited integrity, professionalism, humor and humility. His dedication to the industry, and to the NWFA, is well above and beyond what is expected of any one person.”
Holden joins a select group in which only 11 others have previously received the Industry Leadership Award.
“My years on the board and as chairman allowed me the opportunity to work with wonderful people including the NWFA staff, other board members and committee people," said Holden. " All of them working to create a better industry and a dynamic association to serve that industry. Thank you to NWFA for allowing me the opportunity to make a contribution to the industry. I am looking forward to seeing the NFWA continue to grow and prosper.”
Also announced at the Wood Flooring Expo was the 2015 board.
NWFA’s board is the governing body of the association, and is responsible for its management and operations. The board consists of officers and directors—each of whom is voted into office by NWFA membership. Ex-officio directors are appointed to serve one-year terms.

NWFA 2015 board is as follows:

Chairman: Jeff Fairbanks, Palo Duro Hardwoods, Denver, Co.

Vice chairman: Tommy Maxwell, Maxwell Hardwood Flooring, Monticello, Ark.

Treasurer: Chris Zizza, C&R Flooring, Westwood, Mass.

Secretary: Craig Dupra, Installers Warehouse, Rochester, N.Y.

Past chairman: John Lessick, Apex Wood Floors, Downers Grove, Ill.

Directors: Kevin Murphy, Trinity Hardwood Dist, Austin, Texas

John Wooten, CMH Space Flooring Products, Wadesboro, N.C.

Julie Russell, Glitsa, a division of Rudd Co., Seattle

Scott Sandlin, Shaw Industries, Dalton 

Brenda Cashion, Pinnacle Interior Elements, Carrollton, Texas

Ex-officio directors: Jim Gould, Floor Covering Institute, St. Louis

Avi Hadad, Avi's Hardwood Floors, El Sobrante, Calif.

Steve Brattin, SVB Wood Floor Service, Grandview, Mo.

Jon Namba, Namba Services, Salt Lake City, Utah

Lenny Hall, Endurance Floor Co., West Park, Fla.

Dan Natkin, Mannington Wood Floors, Salem, N.J.

Jon Smith, Smith Flooring, Mountain View, Mo.

For more information, visit