The International Surface Event (TISE) Installer of the Year Competition Finals start Tuesday, January 31. Eight finalists from the regional competitions held last year will compete for the title of National Installer of the Year in the hardwood and carpet categories. 

Tuesday, January 31 competitors are given their workorders and the competition begins at 8am PST. The competition will run for two days, concluding on Wednesday, February 1. Winners will be announced on Thursday, February 2. 

Winners from the Orlando, Florida Southeast Regional Competition

Carpet winner: Roy Lewis, Eagle Floorcovering Supplies, Phenix City, Alabama

Hardwood winner: David Beagle, Tile Tec, Winter Spring, Florida

Winners from the St. Louis, Missouri Central US Regional Competition:

Carpet winner: Kevin Keefe, QEP, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Hardwood winner: William Hensley, Totta Hardwood Flooring, Kansas City, Missouri

Winners from the San Leandro, California West Coast Regional Competition

Carpet winner: Justin Lopez, D.S. Baxley Inc., Livermore, California

Hardwood winner: Hugo Hernandez, MS Rouse Company, Covina, California

Wildcard Selections:

Carpet: Zachary Stacy, Pruitt Flooring, Wichita, Kansas 

Hardwood: Hasan Basic, D.S. Baxley Inc., San Ramon, California 

Sponsors include the International Certified Flooring Installers (CFI) and the International Union of Painters and Allied Trades (IUPAT) and the National Wood Flooring Association (NWFA). The category sponsors are Performance Accessories for hardwood, Mohawk for carpet, QEP/Roberts for tools and Taylor Adhesives for adhesive products.